• New Sponsor: ShipNerd, Ship Your Gear with Us... for less! Click Here.

Products from GC with California Disclaimer: Reproductive Harm and Cancer

satisphied

So I purchased a couple of guitar wall hangers and a TRS cable from GC over the black friday week. I knew they weren't high quality items and were most likely made in China, but they were running some very good deals.

To my dismay I happened to check the back of the packaging and both the TRS cable and wall hangers have the California Prop 65 Disclaimer: This product may contain compounds that cause reproductive harm, birth defects, and cancer.

What the hell!! May?!? This is my first time seeing this disclaimer before, and having had cancer in my teens it scared the **** out of me. I can view it from a couple of different perspectives: I am angry at GC and now truly see them as the Walmart of music gear - not giving a crap about its customers health or well being and shlepping dangerous low quality products from China.

Or

California is unjustly scaring consumers away from some brands or distributors by throwing scary warnings on products, that they may contain some harmful compounds. May?? Shouldn't you be certain of something like that before you throw it on an item's packaging.

Once I have the time I want to call GC and request free return shipping, I doubt I will be able to get over the fact that these simple items may be giving me cancer or causing my unborn children birth defects.

Bogner

California is a cover your ass state...regulations, disclaimers, etc are all part of their political red tape. I wouldn't be alarmed by it because if you have been playing for any time at all then you have already been exposed to this type of thing in various products. At least now you know...

satisphied