proof reader, design checker ???

Discussion in 'The Pub' started by Dave Shoop, Mar 26, 2019.

1. Dave Shoop

Dave Shoop Member

This is a skill I am realizing is much more difficult than I expected. Designing a brochure for my wife's business using Pages (Mac program). It's actually fun but being self taught it is amazing how much time it takes to figure out how to use the tools provided. I'm sure I'm just touching the surface on all the program can do.

What is surprisingly difficult is when you think you are close to being finished and start reviewing documents for typos or layout mistakes. It takes hours for me and then I go back the next day thinking I'm ready to send to print and find something else. Not to mention you realize you left out something and then need to insert it in a document you thought was done which then affects the whole layout spacing.

Anyone do this and find info as to how to best approach proof reading documents ? Is there a trick or better approach or is it just repetition and trial and error ? Anybody here do this for a living ? Does it drive you crazy ? Are there tips/tricks for doing this ?

2. Totally Bored

Totally Bored Member

I’d be fired before lunch :aok

ShredSquatch and Moby Dick like this.
  3. Dave Shoop

Dave Shoop Member

It reminds me of trying to do home studio recording. You can hardly ever get to the point where you feel you are actually satisfied with it. You wear out and say this is going have to do.

84superchamp likes this.
  4. lp_bruce

lp_bruce Member

I have done a lot of proofreading over the years (I manage a team that writes business proposals). I have a team of proofreaders who work for me, though stuff still ends up on my desk sometimes.

I think a lot of it is experience and repetition. With something you've created yourself, you will likely find that you make the same mistakes--or the same kind of mistakes. And that makes them easier to find as you recognize that.