Pro's and Cons of a Tele.. And Pro's and Con's of a Les Paul

Discussion in 'The Sound Hound Lounge' started by {Bold-as-love}, Feb 20, 2012.

1. {Bold-as-love}

{Bold-as-love} Member

I'd just like to know before I start looking... And I'm not a newbie to this type of subject.. I would just like to know.. What each is better at doing and not so good at so I can compare.

2. robbinsteele

robbinsteele Member

a tele strips you naked in front of the world-and will make you a better player..a lespaul is more forgiving-love each carefully

3. {Bold-as-love}

{Bold-as-love} Member

Can you be a little more descriptive..?

4. Stratoben127

Stratoben127 Member

Tele... Pros; light, playable, can get pretty fat and hot in the bridge and still be smooth and Strat-like in the neck, easy to mod, cheaper, stays in tune well.
    Cons; can be thinner sounding, not the hugest difference from your Strat but sti a lot different, not as comfortable as a Strat

Les Paul... Pros; THE classic rock sound, many pickup options, very fat, looks cool.
    Cons; HEAVY, probably one of the most uncomfortable guitars ever, can be really muddy, super loud and distorted compared to a Strat even with the same settings, not great at staying in tune, fragile, expensive.

Strat... Pros; everything
    Cons; may not be able to handle it's goodness.

5. thesjkexperienc

thesjkexperienc ^^^ I made this guitar^^^

The Pros of a Tele: Lots of choices with every item the guitar is made of, so you can customize all you want! They are available from around $100 - $100,000 to meet every budget. They can weigh as little as 6 pounds or up to 12 or more if you are into that kind of thing. Nearly indestructible as they are constructed of a cutting board and a baseball bat ;) Can be used as a weapon. (Just ask Keef) Teles are surprisingly versatile getting Les Paul tones to traditional chicken pickin' from the same guitar if you have a good stomp box. Fits any type of music except possibly surf.