• New Sponsor: ShipNerd, Ship Your Gear with Us... for less! Click Here.

PRS Guitar Choice Help!

ArdaD

Firstly, I'm not a native English speaker so please dont mind me and correct me if I take long or make mistakes =)

Here's the thing;

I'm buying a PRS in a week or two, probably a Custom 24. But there are two other models that keep tempting me: DGT and 513. I know all these are completely different instruments. What I'm searching for is basically a swiss knife but with a better corkscrew =)

What I want is;

- bulky, voluminous, beefy and silent humbucker pups (not necessarily modern or too high gain!) that feel like real humbuckers (not like high output singles) and that go close enough to single coils when split (a tiny bit of fender-like chime would do like 513). I'm a session musician so I basically play pretty much everything. Classical, progressive, hard rock, blues, jazz, fusion, funk, even post-rock at times.

-Good split tones for versatily and acoustic simulation compatibility (honestly, humbuckers dont work with acoustic simulation units AT ALL). That's why DGT and 513 are tempting.

- I havent played a DGT but I do know that David Grissom has hell of a tone! What bugs me is; are the pups too vintage that if you bulk up on gain they wont handle the hum? And are those 2 volume controls as effective as one master volume? I use the volume pot A LOT and I prefer one master volume control bcs it cleans up more! You hear the difference even if you turn it a tiny bit whereas with guitars that have 2 volume controls like Les Pauls for instance, you hardly hear any change when you turn the volume down until you're near the end and I hate that. Are the volume pots of DGT suffer from same issue?