PRS HBI vs HBII?

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by Drunkagain, Nov 18, 2005.

1. Drunkagain

Drunkagain Member

I posted this over at BaM but figured I'd ask here as well.

Whats the difference in sound between the two guitars? I know the HBI is a mahogany back and the HBII is a maple back but what does that do for the sound? Any pluses or minuses to one or the other?

I've been jonesing for a PRS HB for a few years now and I think I'm gonna go for it after I pay off my Thorn next year. I know I want that pizza thing but since I've never had a chance to try one and I'll probably be buying online I'd like to get an idea about the sound differences. Thanks.

2. paintguy

paintguy Long Hair Hippy Freak Silver Supporting Member

After your done paying off the Thorn, put a deposit down on a Thorn hollowbody.

:)

Theres only a few in existence, and you get whatever you want. I dig the one's Ron has made so far.

Or, you could get a Prs, the finest production guitar out there, in mho.

I'm sure either are killer.

Ps, Ron does the pizza thing too.

3. bluehugh2

bluehugh2 Gold Supporting Member

I've owned both the HBI and the II. The HBII is brighter and snappier with a tighter more compressed tone. The HBI is a little more "woofy" sounding and perhaps a bit warmer. But The HBII is plenty warm sounding. After going through a few of each type, I actually prefer the HBII. Easier to control and more useful for me.

4. Den

Den Member

I'd highly recommend you try to get your hands on a few of these before you buy ... or make sure you do business with someone who offers a solid return policy. I lusted after one of these for years and finally, after trying an HB spruce, HBI and HBII, realized that the tones I was hoping for just weren't to be found.

The HB are beautiful guitars, though ... I wish you luck and hope you find one you love.

5. clarkram

clarkram Member