PRS S2 line: "Stock" good enough?

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by toanechaser, Mar 25, 2015.

1. toanechaser

toanechaser Member

Got a Singlecut incoming next week and I´m stoked. However, I have little experience with S2´s or PRS in general for that matter. I´m starting on a series of small tours in may and I´m planning on bringing the S2 along as one of two axes. As a quality over quantity kinda guy, I wonder about the overall quality of the S2 come to tuning, noise, playability, stability and all the other stuff. Can the S2 SC cut the mustard when the going gets tough? Any heads up on "issues"? Potential worthwhile upgrades?

Cheers,

2. weshunter

weshunter Supporting Member

3. soundmuppet

soundmuppet Member

Disclaimer - I have not gigged my S2 Custom 22 yet....

That said, it holds it's own 'very' well against any other instrument I own, including my core Mira. I have no desire to change out the pickups as they sound great. And I love the feel of the neck and the control overall.

If I could only take two guitars on the road tomorrow, my Mira and S2 would both come with me without a seconds thought.

I own, Fender, Gibson and Reverend guitars as well....and to be honest, would happily take any one of them too :)

4. jonnytexas

jonnytexas Supporting Member

Nothing is good enough stock. Hang around here a little more and you will find out too.

5. dazco

dazco Member

Absolutely no worries. They are excellent quality. But if you want the most reliable guitar, get a tele with a fairly beefy neck. One nite you can be playing the antarctic and the next the sahara desert and it wont even flinch.

6. Whitecat

Whitecat Member

The S2s are pretty stable overall. The stoptails on those are identical to their Core counterparts. I personally would change out the pickups on the Singlecut model, but that's just reflecting my taste.

7. SupremeDalek

SupremeDalek Member