PRS SE 245 sound and potential pickup upgrades...

Alpione

Silver Supporting Member
Hey all - Happy New Year!

I've got a nice SE 245 that plays great but I'm looking to tweak the sound a little. I'm new to pickup changes, so looking for some advice.

Leads with the stock bridge pickup are loud and clear, but they have what I imagine most people mean when they say PRSs are "modern" sounding - cutting, almost a metal sound. I'm looking for something a little more Les Paul/vintage/classic rock sounding.

The neck is a little dark and I'd like a little more clarity.

There are a million pickups out there and the manufacturer websites have each of them labeled with EQ curves, etc. But I'm not sure what EQ curve my stock pickups would be considered or what I'd be looking for to get more of the tone I'm looking for.

Any advice appreciated.

A

Chicago Slim

I really like the SE 245 bridge pickup. I would just replace the the neck with an alnico V pickup, with better clarity.

I've got an SE 245 and a Zach Myers. I went back and forth trying to make each one sound as good as the other. By the time I was through adjusting them, I just left them in. And I've got MIA McCarty pickups sitting in a drawer. It wouldn't even cost anything, for me to do the swap.

cap10kirk

If you want more of a vintage PAF tone, Duncan Antiquities are my favorites, and what I have in my Les Paul. If you want something a little less expensive, the Duncan Alnico 2 Pros are great as well, and still have that PAF vibe. The Duncan Jazz is also a good neck pickup, not really a PAF, but it has clarity. Or, the ultimate for clarity in a neck pickup, imo, is a Filtertron, either a TV Jones Classic or Brian Setzer signature.