PRS SE double cutaways...why so few with a Wide Fat neck?

guitargeezer

I'm a big fan of the PRS double cutaway shape (I have a Grissom, have had a Ted McCarty DC245, and have a used SE EG en route) but, except for the Santana SE (don't like the shorter, Yamaha-style horns) and the SE 22 Standard, I can't seem to find any SE models that have the wide fat profile...sure, plenty of single cutaways with the wide fat profile, but why so few DC's with the wide fats?

I would think that a few models with trems (or hard tail) with mahogany bodies and maple caps would be very successful. Or, maybe it's just me...since Paul is a pretty smart cookie...

Anybody else miss them?

Chicago Slim

I started playing a 2001, PRS Swamp Ash Special and first generation Santana SE, both with Wide/Fat necks. I played so much better on those necks, that I sold most of my Fender guitars. I sold off some really great guitars, because the necks were not thick enough for me.

I think that most of the people buying SE double cutaways with a tremolo, are coming from the Strat camp. The Wide/Thin's would feel more natural to them. Plus, the introduction of the S2 line, meant more models to produce. They cut the two neck shapes, Wide/Fat and Wide/Thin necks, replacing them with the single, Pattern Regular, for both 22 and 24 fret guitars.

I'm now playing core line Starla's and SE Singlecut 245's, both still with Wide/Fat necks and 24.5" scales. I just got my first S2, with a Pattern Regular neck, and 25" scale. The difference is negligible. The neck depth, is still 27/32", same as the old Wide/Fat.

guitargeezer

I think that most of the people buying SE double cutaways with a tremolo, are coming from the Strat camp. The Wide/Thin's would feel more natural to them. Plus, the introduction of the S2 line, meant more models to produce. They cut the two neck shapes, Wide/Fat and Wide/Thin necks, replacing them with the single, Pattern Regular, for both 22 and 24 fret guitars.