PRS Singlecut fans?????

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by papersoul, Jan 3, 2008.

1. papersoul

papersoul Member

Any SC fans in the crowd? I have a PRS CE-22 that I like a lot and used to own a McCarty which was nice but didn't compete with my LPs.

Now, I have tried a few Singlecuts but they never seem to sound as big and full as an LP or fill out as nicely, plus I think LPs play better.

Anyone find a good SC???

Just curious because I keep trying them when I can....

Thanks!

2. DanielT2

DanielT2 Member

The old PRS SC was superseded by the SC250 (hotter pu's, locking tuners) and the SC245 (more Gibson-esque scale length of 24.5").

For a bigger sound try an SC250, for a more Gibson like feel, try a SC245.

3. wrxplayer

wrxplayer Supporting Member

I bought a 2001 PRS Singlecut 10 top as a collectors' piece before the Gibson litigation resolved. The idea was to put it under the bed and wait as it appreciated. Plan didn't work, as I started playing it more and more and now play it mostly. Have played a fair number of guitars but nothing has felt as good in my hands than this, including other singlecuts. Volume and tone knobs truly work on a 1 to 10 scale rather that "lots and little" as is the case with many. Build quality is great. I think the sound is a bit crisper than a similarly equipped LP, almost as if the pickups were set an inch back of where LP pickups would sit, if that makes sense. I just play for fun, and can't see selling it unless I run out of money. Her name is Paulette. Here's a picture of her .

[​IMG]

grausch likes this.
  4. DrPCR

DrPCR Member

they are ok, I guess

[​IMG]

grausch likes this.
  5. Wally1

Wally1 Member

Hey Rich!