1. The Rules have been updated regarding posting as a business on TGP. Thread with details here: Thread Here
    Dismiss Notice

PRS treble roll-off question

Discussion in 'Luthier's Guitar & Bass Technical Discussion' started by devbro, May 17, 2005.

1. devbro

devbro Member

Hi everyone,

I searched the archives and found a few posts on this issue but I'm a total electronics newbie and still not clear.

I just got a new amp and now I notice a huge lose of treble when I turn down the volume. The reduction happens between 10 and 8. In fact, by the time it's at 8, it sounds like mud. I'm using fairly high quality short cables (Mogami 2524) and a buffer on my pedal board so I dont think its a cable capacitance issue.

I opened up the back of my PRS and found a cap (I think it's a cap) marked 180k soldered across the lugs on the pot.

What can I do to make it so when I turn down the volume, the treble / tone remains intact?

2. Taller

Taller Silver Supporting Member

Anywhere is everywhere and nowhere is nothing.
    That cap is there to prevent what you're describing.

You say you just got a new amp - have you tried the guitar through a different amp?

3. devbro

devbro Member

Hi Taller,
    I'm now playing through a Bogner Shiva. Oddly, I never noticed any treble loss with my Mesa Triaxis.

Could the cap in my PRS have gone bad?

4. Taller

Taller Silver Supporting Member

Anywhere is everywhere and nowhere is nothing.
    Highly unlikely.

If the guitar sounded fine through the Mesa and not fine through the Shiva, my best guess is the way the different amps are reacting with that guitar.

5. devbro

devbro Member

That's what I think too.

I think I need to change the cap to a different value.
    Any recommendations?

Thanks.........

6. John Phillips

John Phillips Member