Psionic Audio 3.14

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by aquadog, Oct 20, 2008.

1. aquadog

aquadog Member

Anyone have one of these? It looks like a pretty awesome pedal. How are you using it and what type of tones are you getting?

2. andersdc

andersdc Member

3. pistolsteve

pistolsteve Member

Noticed this weekend that the Psionic Audio website is down, which is a bummer cause I wanted to check out those sound clips again.

Based on the name, I'm guessing this is a Big Muff Pi clone, but my recollection from listening to those sound clips earlier was that this is a pretty diverse pedal.

Can one get Hendrixy/Pagey (Zep I-III) tones out of this pedal? And is it still available?

The 3.14 had been on my fuzz pedal short list, but lately I've been leaning more toward the Throbak Stone Bender. Any similarities at all between the 3.14 and the Stone Bender or are they entirely different beasts? I'm new to fuzzes.

4. andersdc

andersdc Member

It walks towards Fuzz Face territory, but IMO never really gets there. It has its own sonic character that always shines through.
    The cleanup with the guitar pot is as well not similar to a Fuzz Face, that usually very sudden drops in the amount of drive.
    On this pedal, the cleanup happens more gradually, and there is no brightening on the clean sound, as a fuzz face will give.

I would say its an extremely versatile big-muff fuzz, but it cant really get the Fuzz Face sound. But David Guilmour, Smashing Pumpkins, Fripp, etc, -sounds are definatly there.

EDIT: In contrary to the original big muff, the gain control is much more usable. The tone-stack can be switched between a rams-head style, and a more modern version with more mids.
    The clipping is done by either si+si or si+ge diodes.
    Generally this pedal takes big muff sounds where theyve never been before.

FYI: The builder, Lyle Caldwell intentionally took the website down to catch up with orders.

5. beej

beej Supporting Member