Pulling power tubes for reduced wattage?

Discussion in 'Amps/Cabs Tech Corner: Amplifier, Cab & Speakers' started by DreamTheaterRules, Oct 7, 2008.

1. DreamTheaterRules

DreamTheaterRules Former Lyricist for Calhoun Tubbs Silver Supporting Member

I've heard that in most amps that have 2-4 output tubes, you can pull a pair, or even 3 of the power tubes to reduce wattage of the amp. I am a fairly advanced amateur DIY guy, but I can't get my head around how this can be ok. But the person who told me you can do it is in EE and has off the charts knowledge on most things.

So, on my classic 30, or other normal push/pull type amps, IS IT OK to just pull tubes to reduce power? And, I know there have to be some side effects, so what are they?

I just keep thinking impedance will be screwed up somewhere, voltage flowing around in open circuits.... something bad has to be involved. :confused:

2. Structo

Structo Member

The output impedance changes when you do this as well.
    [FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Then you need to adjust the load that the amp is driving. If you have a two speaker cabinet, like a Twin Reverb, disconnect one speaker. This will change the load from 4 ohms to 8 ohms, and the amp will be happy. If you have an impedance selector on the back of your amp, set it to half of the speaker impedance. If you use an 8 ohm cabinet, set the selector to 4 ohms.[/FONT]
    [FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]If you intend to run the amp this way for a while, consider rebiasing because now only 2 tubes are pulling current where 4 tubes where before, and the bias may be off a bit. [/FONT]

But the fact is, when you half the power, you are only dropping 3 db of the sound level.
    So it isn't that big of a volume drop.
    The tone seems to change as well and most of the time in a negative way.

You are much better off using an attenuator to lessen the volume.

3. FrankieSixxxgun

FrankieSixxxgun Member