1. The Rules have been updated regarding posting as a business on TGP. Thread with details here: Thread Here
    Dismiss Notice

Push-pull Pots Wiring Idea

Discussion in 'Luthier's Guitar & Bass Technical Discussion' started by PanamaCZ, Nov 20, 2005.

1. PanamaCZ

PanamaCZ Member

Anyone have experience with this wiring configuration?

[​IMG]

It produces these pickup configurations:

[​IMG]

Note: The wiring diagram shows both pots in the down position.

2. EADGBE

EADGBE Member

I have no experience with that particular wiring setup. I did wire a super distortion @ the bridge to a three way DPDT mini switch once. What I found out is I only liked the series mode. The other two (parallel and single coil) sounded too thin etc.. Now when I wire up guitars I just go with standard hookups. Unless I'm hooking up an onboard preamp. In which case I may add a DPDT switch for series/parallel. But in my opinion, regular series humbucking just sounds so much better. But you may want to try it just see how you like it. You never know, you may love it.

3. Clorenzo

Clorenzo Member

I would probably turn the bridge pickup around to a) get the outer-coils and inner-coils combinations, which I think will be more distinct and useful than outer neck-inner bridge and inner neck-outer bridge, and b) have two combinations where the bridge inner coil is selected (I find it much more useful than the outer, generally too thin and trebly even if it's a hot humbucker).

I used to have option to wire the neck humbucker in parallel in a Warmoth LP-cloner and it was a very useful, very acoustic-like tone. The outer-coils is Tele-esque and the inner-coils is Neck+Middle-Strat-esque (I've got them both currently in the LP-cloner and they're also stock in my PRS CE22).

Out of curiosity, which pickups are you using and on which guitar?

4. PanamaCZ

PanamaCZ Member

EADGBE and Clorenzo, thanks for the feedback - it's greatly appreciated!

Clorenzo,