Putting covers on my pickups...

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by jrm, Sep 2, 2008.

1. jrm

jrm Member

Hello all:

I've got Seymour Duncan 59/JB pickups in my guitar. Right now they are open coiled and I want to put covers on them. So... I have a few questions as this is something I've never done before.

1. Will Gibson humbucker covers fit these or do I need to find SD ones somewhere?
    2. Are the 59/JB potted pickups? Is there a way I would be able to tell?
    3. Are there any special tricks to installing the covers that help fight any feedback that might result in their application?
    4. Is there a resource I shoudl be looking at as a step-by-step?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

2. vds5000

vds5000 Member

1. The holes for the pole pieces may not line up - will look like crap if this is the case.
    2. I think they are.
    3. I believe you will definately need to solder them to the metal base of the pickup itself.
    4.) Not sure.

Quite frankly, you may be better off trying to find used Duncans with covers already on them - they do turn up on occasion.

3. TheLemon

TheLemon Senior Member

1. Quick answer would be no. I think you would need SD ones. I tried to put Gibson Covers on my SD Alnico IIs but they did not fit properly.
    2.No. EDIT: Yes.
    3. Nope. I put my Gibson covers back on my open coil 490R and 498Ts without any tricks and theyve worked fine.
    4. Nope

Last edited: Sep 2, 2008
  4. Jim Collins

Jim Collins Member

Soldering the cover to the base of the pickup is required for grounding purposes, but this is, for the most part, independent of microphonic behavior. To eliminate microphonic behavior, you will have to pot the pickup in the cover. That can be quite messy, and not without an element of danger, since paraffin is quite flammable.

5. Bill Brasky

Bill Brasky Senior Member

Pot it with silicone rubber. You don't need to use wax to pot the cover.

6. Screaming Stone

Screaming Stone Member