Putting Eric Johnson body on USA standard strat - some quick advice please!

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by Guitarchip, Feb 3, 2015.

1. Guitarchip

Guitarchip Member

Hello! I have a 2008 USA stratocaster with a maple neck, I've got bare knuckle pat pend 63 pickups in it and it sounds great! Unfortunately, the body had a big smack recently - the paints all cracked and dinged and it just looks bad!

Would an Eric Johnson body off eBay be direct replacement? Will all the hardware off my guitar fit ok? Term, etc. I'm guessing it will, but I have no knowledge of building strat so just checking none of measurements are different for the EJ strat. I'll get a local, trusted luthier to rebuild/set up the guitar.

Many thanks, and hello! First post.

2. Otto Tune

Otto Tune Member

3. MusicStoreLive

MusicStoreLive Member

So basically, you just want to put an American Standard neck on an EJ body?

You should be able to do that. Not sure if the bridge will be a perfect fit since the EJ uses some vintage-style parts and the Am std does not.

Make sure the pickguard holes are the same. Standards have 11 holes. Not sure off the top of my head if the EJ does as well.

But tuners, pots, pickups etc will fit fine.

4. Jonny Hotnuts

Jonny Hotnuts Member

The spacing of the vintage 6 pin is slightly wider than the standard but should still work fine. It would be a shame to mount a 2 pin bridge on an EJ body its a serious mod; there are many 2 pin bodies out there OR a 6 pin bridge is cheap.

I would get the EJ body and 6 pin bridge.

~JH

5. Guitarchip

Guitarchip Member

Thanks guys! Really appreciate your advice - I won't go ahead and do it then if it won't be perfect, I don't really want to buy a new bridge as well.

I'm going to call into my local tech at the end of the week to see how much it would cost to refinish the body in nitro - i'll let you know what I decide to do!