Q: for those who use 2 channel, NON switchable amps

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by zekmoe, Jan 26, 2008.

1. zekmoe

zekmoe Member

I was wondering, for those of you, like myself, who seem to use alot of 2 channel, non channel switchable amps, like a Matchless DC-30, Reinhardt 18 watt, or others that have dual inputs as well as some variance in pre-amp control. Do you use both channels and switch between them externally, or do you pick one, and use pedals exclusivly? The reason is I've been wondering if I'm complicating things using both channels. They do sound different (the amps above are my main babys) and I have a variety of pedals I like. But I've been wondering if you use both the "distorted" channels, and the clean channels, or do you get an overall good sound, and alter it with pedals and volume knob control, and ignore the second channel?

2. blackba

blackba Supporting Member

I have been kind of debating the same thing as I have a Fender Bandmaster Reverb head, Bassman head, and a Vox AC30CC1. What I am planning to go with my next band is either use 2 separate amps or use the 2nd channel as a solo boost channel.

Traditionally I have just used 1 channel and used pedals.....

3. Tonefish

Tonefish Member

If you like both channels, I would try a Tonebone Switchbone (or a Switchhazel or a Framptone) to see if you can make them work together the way you like. These pedals also provide the option of using both channels together (and they take care of the potential phase issues). It may add another nice dimension to your amp.

4. riffmeister

riffmeister Gold Supporting Member

I used both channels on my DC30 like this:

ABY A channel -> delay -> chorus -> 12AX7 channel

ABY B channel -> wah -> OD -> EF86 channel

A only for rhythm

A+B for leads

5. re-animator

re-animator Senior Member