Question about 100 watt Marshall... heat!

Discussion in 'Amps/Cabs Tech Corner: Amplifier, Cab & Speakers' started by JeffMN, Jun 23, 2006.

1. JeffMN

JeffMN Member

I'm getting ready to gig with my Marshall SL-X 2100 this Saturday. I've worked out a couple of kinks with it - scratchy pots and a bad power tube - and all seems fine now. I put a new matched set of tubes in it tonight. Unfortunately, it appears that my DMM (a Fluke 16) can't measure any more than 200mA current, so other than measuring the negative grid voltage that I have applied (-42v) I have no way of telling if these things are running too hot... or do I? I'm using the Torres book "Inside Tube Amps." I'm trying to measure plate current via the "Transformer Shunt" method, hooking one lead to the center tap and the other to the plates. My multimeter can't measure the current of 2 tubes it appears, it just displays overload. This is my first time trying to adjust bias for a set of tubes. Is there another way of measuring the current?

All I can say is, maybe it's just because I've never owned a 100 watt head prior to this... man, do those things give off some HEAT! :eek: It's kinda scary, and makes me second guess the bias setup! They're not glowing or anything like that (other than the heaters) and the original tubes got plenty hot too. I have used the Marshall Artist 3203 for a few years now as a power amp and it's 30 watts, and only 2 EL34s. Yes, it's half the amp... but it's nowhere near as hot as this thing gets. Is this normal for a 100 watt head to run this hot?

2. Rex Nomad

Rex Nomad Member

3. JeffMN

JeffMN Member