• TGP is giving away a Strat, Tele, and Jazzmaster. Click Here for full details.
    Click Here to upgrade your account and enter today!
  • If you are seeing this, you are on the new TGP servers. Bear with us as we work out any issues related to the move. The end result should be a far better snappier experience on TGP. *Notice: You can close this notice by clicking on the "X" in the upper right corner.

Question about blackfacing a SF Deluxe

jompa

I recently picked up a SF Deluxe. Seller claimed it was a '76, but the serial shows it as a '77--no master volume on the front. The guy I bought it from took it to a tech who he claims "did a bunch of stuff to make it sound better." Basically, I'm not sure what's been done, and I haven't even dug into the guts yet. Honestly, although I've read a bunch about amps, I'm not experienced enough yet to know my way around the chassis. :dunno

So here's my question. I recall reading somewhere that in the late 70s, some Deluxes started to get different power trannies than the earlier SFs. If this is the case, then they can't be truly blackfaced. Does anyone know if this is true? The standard schematic for AB868 SF Deluxes is the same for '68-82 with no indication of differently spec'd PTs. Also, I'm not really sure what's been done to this amp. According to Weber, codes show both transformers as Woodward-Schumachers--606.

Is there any way to tell if this amp can be BF'd with this power tranny? Has anyone else read or heard about this? I'd appreciate any info I can get. Thanks in advance.

SatelliteAmps

It can be, but the bigger question is why? Those amps sound awesome as is. My personal Deluxe Reverb is a 1976, and it sounds better than any of the Blackfaces I've owned.

Does the amp not sound good? Or is there some other reason to try and make it into a Blackface version?

JJman