Question about OD's and Boost pedals

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by tdu, Jul 16, 2006.

1. tdu

tdu Member

Excuse my lack of technical terms, but I am no pedal expert.

In the past I have used a Maxon OD-9 with my EL84 and EL34 tube amps and been very happy. It doesn't seen to sound 'right' with my new 6V6 amps though (Princeton Reverb, Champster Special). It seems to mess with the tone too much, and scoop out the mids. With my other amps it always gave them that nice 'pushed to OD' sound. With the PR and the CS it sound more artificial.

I am looking for something that gives that 'extra push' sound. Is this what a Boost pedal does? Ideally I'd like a pedal that combines that, and a thicker distortion/overdrive for leads and stuff on one pedal. Is there such a thing?

2. gulliver

gulliver Member

Almost any pedal can be a boost pedal, it really just means to turn the level control (not distortion control) up so the output is much higher than the original guitar signal. This hit's the front end of your tube amp and causes overdrive. It's much like putting high output pickups in a guitar.

The TS-9 type pedals are known for lack of bass and nasal mid hump. Certainly, they don't sound great through all amps. I don't have a recommendation for you as I don't know the tone you're looking for, but I think looking for a pedal with overdrive and distortion all in one will limit your choices. Keep checking out pedal clips until you find some that are in your ballpark of tone, and go from there.

3. slowburn

slowburn Supporting Member

fulltone fulldrive 2, perhaps?:

[/FONT]

4. tdu

tdu Member

That is what I was refering to, and what I am trying to avoid. Basically I want something that doesn't mess with the EQ much, and gives a boost. Something that just pushes a pushed amp a little more for even a bit more grit.

5. Cary Chilton

Cary Chilton Senior Member