Question about preamp and power amp tubes

Discussion in 'Amps/Cabs Tech Corner: Amplifier, Cab & Speakers' started by jason honaker, Dec 22, 2005.

1. Hey everyone, I was just wondering if anyone knows of one definitive site that lists various tubes and explains there characteristics. I have some tube knowledge but not enough to really make a difference.

Thanks

2. Roodboy

Roodboy Supporting Member

Try watford valves website.

3. leofenderbender

leofenderbender Supporting Member

Upscale Audio

Last edited: Sep 30, 2012
  4. Wakarusa

Wakarusa Member

Or skip the web sites and invest in your own personal copy of the RCA Receiving Tube Manual. Start with the RC-30 edition.

5. VintageJon

VintageJon Member

All the above + click http://www.nj7p.org/Tube.php for data sheets.

What leofenderbender asks is also most important. Are you looking for specs or subjective opinions or a combination of both?

-Jon

6. Thanks very much for all the help! To answer a previous question, I was looking for a combination of opinions and specs. I recently bought a Peavey JSX and have been trying to learn more about various tubes and their different tone qualities (again, i know some...just not enough).

Much Respect,

Jason

7. rockon1

rockon1 Member

Have you visited the PV site? Thats where the JSX info is. However heres the run down on locations and fuction.

The small tube next to the power tubes and socketed on the same board is V4, the phase splitter.

The three tubes on the main board are V1,2,3. They are numbered in order, and V1 is the one closest to the input jack.

V1 is the input stage and is used in all channels.

V2 is the extra gain stages added in for the lead and crunch channels.

V3 is the active EQ tube for crunch and lead, and also the preamp output buffer and loop recovery tube.

So V1 will affect all channels, while V2 will affect only crunch and lead. Half of V3 affects all, and the other half only the active EQ.