question about tone and volume

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by rosscrudos, Apr 1, 2015.

1. rosscrudos

rosscrudos Member

Hi,

I'm very new to this so please forgive me if this is a daft question.

So, I recently bought a 70's Kustom guitar head (125 watts, 4 ohms) and I have a Crate v212b cabinet. I swapped out the speakers and put in 2 carr kingpin speakers (8 ohms). I wired them in parallel to match the 4 ohm head. Here's the problem, it's incredibly loud! I'm worried my tone will now be too harsh (I haven't played with the rest of my band yet). Will I get a different tone, if I wired the speakers in series?

I play jangly indie pop stuff.

Any tips or comments would be appreciated :)

2. GCDEF

GCDEF Supporting Member

Can your amp take a 16 ohm load?

Is it tube or solid state? If it's solid state, it will put out less power into 16 ohms. Tube will be the same.

I wouldn't expect a significant difference in tone.

Doesn't it have a volume knob?

3. rosscrudos

rosscrudos Member

It's a solid state amp.

haha it does have a volume knob, but the tone seems harsh when I start to turn up. I was simply wondering if the head put out less power (into 16 ohms) if that would change the sound. It sounds like it doesn't. It seems like it was a daft question :)

Thanks for the reply

4. Phletch

Phletch Member

Why did you swap the speakers in your cab? Was it harsh before the swap?

5. IM4Tone

IM4Tone Member

Often new speakers sound 'harsh' before they are broken in. If these are new speakers, give them around 50+/- hours of playing reasonably loud before passing final judgment. Also, if the new speakers have a significantly higher sensitivity, they'll be louder at the same setting.

6. GCDEF

GCDEF Supporting Member

As they said, if it's harsh when you turn it up, it's likely the speaker. Solid state amps should be pretty consistent at any volume.

7. StompBoxBlues

StompBoxBlues Member