Question for Reverend guitar owners

Discussion in 'The Small Company Luthiers' started by BluesWannabe, Feb 27, 2006.

1. BluesWannabe

BluesWannabe Member

Hello,

This is my first post but I've been lurking for months.

I've been playing guitar for over 30 years, and I've owned a whole bunch of them... I still have a dozen or so...

I just got a new Reverend Slingshot... ordered around New Year's, delivered about 3 weeks ago... it plays great, looks great (like a Rick Vito standard model w/o aluminum), great vibe, sounds great...

Here's the deal... I'm embarrassed to say it .... the smell of the guitar makes me queasy... it seems to be the finish on the neck, not the phenolic top.... my wife and daughter can smell it, but they don't have a problem with it....

I've left it out on a stand for 10 days now (I was travelling when it was delivered). I have been hoping that the smell would fade...

So, am I completely nuts here, or has anyone else had this experience, and if so, did it go away?

I'm outside of my 14 day test drive, but even if I wasn't, I can't imagine calling Reverend and saying "Um, Joe... I love the guitar, but I want to send it back because it makes me sick!"

Nice first post, huh?

(I wasn't sure if I should start a new thread, or hijack the "Reverend Gallery" thread... sorry if this is in the wrong place...)

2. Jon Silberman

Jon Silberman 10Q Jerry & Dickey Gold Supporting Member

Welcome to TGP! Visit and post often. :)

The Rev Gallery covers all things Rev and more, your post would be perfect there.

If your family and you all smell it, you're not nuts. I do have to say, though, I've been following these guitars since '00 including having personally played well over a hundred and thought I'd seen and heard it all by now but this is a new one to me.

3. Joe Naylor

Joe Naylor Supporting Member

That's a first. But...

Did it come with a case? The cases do have a strong smell when new.

If it is the fingerboard, try this: