Question for the Ibanez AD-9 users

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by danut, Jan 16, 2006.

1. danut

danut Member

I am pretty new to the world of delays, so I borrowed a friend's MIK DD-3 to experiment a bit, before buying anything. Although those 800 ms are very comfortable, I notice some sort of coldness on my tone with this pedal and it seems I'm not the only one under this impression. After reading valuable opinions around here I decided I'd give the analog way a shot. The Ibanez AD-9 has very good reviews with regards both to the sound quality and reliability but what really bothers me is that those 300 ms are not quite enough for some high gain stuff. I read that many people mess with the internal trim pot and get the delay time up to 500 ms, but is there a price to pay in terms of tonal degradation? I mean 500 ms is enough for some high gain stuff on the DD-3 but on the AD-9, aren't the repeats too darkened and dirty? Please fill me in. Thanks.

2. danut

danut Member

Well, no one?

3. Rock Fella

Rock Fella Member

i use an ibanez ad-9

ive had boss dd3, dm2, dm3 also.

the old early 80s analogs are just gorgeous, the ibanez ad9 is a definite step in that tonal ballpark. i disliked the dentists waiting room sterility of the digital dd3 , in practice i didnt need 800m/s or anything like it, i set the analog to a full sounding 300m/s with short repeat and its all i was ever looking for, the analogs in my opinion are just so more ear friendly and organic in tone, the digitals reproduce more accurately but in my instance, i found the more natural in timbre analogs to be better suited to my needs. i wouldnt worry about "only" 300m/s at all.

4. MrSage

MrSage Member

Get Keeley's mod for the DD-3 and put either an EQ or some kind of modulation in the effects loop (like chorus or vibrato). That'll warm up the delayed notes and get rid of some of the clean digital sound.

5. danut

danut Member