• TGP is giving away a Strat, Tele, and Jazzmaster. Click Here for full details.
    Click Here to upgrade your account and enter today!

Question for those in the know about Strymon Volante...

jrockbridge

I know the Volante has 4 simulated heads and they can be panned in the stereo field. Essentially, the heads are spaced apart. My question is this, can the Volante be adjusted with two heads in a stereo image with very little time spacing between the heads? To clarify, I’m wanting to know if two heads can be adjusted with only a slight time space between them and panned left and right for a stereo image? Also, could it be setup to keep the slight spacing between the heads and the stereo L/R pan while ONLY changing the overall delay time with tap tempo?

Thanks in advance for any answers.

phil_m

How did this get here? I'm not good at computer.
Gold Supporting Member
If you only use the first two heads and had them panned how you wanted, I'm sure you could get a pretty short time between with a short delay time. You could tweak the timing using the Spacing knob. I'm not sure I understand what you're asking in the second part of your question. If tap a new tempo in, the timing between the two heads will change also. How much it changes depends on the tempo you tap in and where you have the Spacing knob.

dshobe

Rocky Mountain Way
Gold Supporting Member
I think I'm getting pretty close to what you're asking using heads 3 and 4 with the silver ratio spacing.

jrockbridge

Cool guys. Thanks.

I have learned that I like dual tape delay sims panned left and right with only a slight difference in delay time. But, I’ve been using two stomps to accomplish it. It would be great if I could have the Volante to accomplish this in one stomp and one tap tempo switch to set delay times. I would probably use the Volante in other ways too but my stereo spread, dual delay scenario is the main thing I’d use it for.

Boba7

Cool guys. Thanks.