• New Sponsor: ShipNerd, Ship Your Gear with Us... for less! Click Here.

Question for you guitar teachers

scottlr

I am not a teacher, but I have been playing for 46 years. I have a fairly good grip on putting some soul into anything I play. But I have a much younger close friend that has asked me to show him some stuff. The problem as I see it, is that he never took lessons, and just started from the git-go watching vids online, and learning his favorite EVH solos. He is pretty damn good at the tapping. I don't tap at all. But he is severely lacking in finesse and the soul factor when he does anything else.

Several months ago, I managed to get him interested in rhythm guitar. Before, he only wanted to play the solos. I pointed out how cool Eddie's comping was, and got him interested. Then I tried to back him back about 100 lessons and learn some basics. He got a lot better at it. But without getting all of the proper inflections, etc., he sounds like **** compared to his tapping.

I think the older guys just busted my balls until I got it right, when I was 12-14 years old. Busting his balls doesn't work. He just gets frustrated, and even walked out on me once.

He wants me to just let him figure it out, but he's never gonna do it alone, as far as I can see. So I try to reason with him. I ask for his input on how I can give him my experience without pissing him off. I am close to just saying the hell with it. If he won't listen and learn, then I don't know what to do. But he has such potential if he'd get rid of the cocky attitude.

He'll say something like, "well, you can't play Eruption." I don't really want to. So I have said to him a few times, that if we were to have a guitar duel, I'd just kick his ass all over the place. Play Eruption. Now play something else NOT by EVH.