Question of (Callaham) steel trem blocks

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by atomheartmother, Apr 17, 2005.

1. atomheartmother

atomheartmother Senior Member

I'm thinking about getting one of these. I have a Squier Pro Tone Strat and it is not listed anywhere on the Callaham site, so I'm not sure as to which to get. I emailed them and was told to measure the string spacing (center of e to center of E) as well as to measure the distance from the centers of the two outside pivot screws. I did this and came up with 56 mm for both measurements (I'm not good with measuring inches). If my conversions are correct, it comes out to 2.2047244 inch inches. This is different from the two sizes that he offers (2 1/16" and 2 7/32"). Is it the vintage repro then? I doesn't measure up exactly, but then again, I didn't use the most exact methods.
    The guitar has a vintage 6 point bridge, by the way.

Also, is it worth the $60 or whatever? Is there a noticable difference?

2. alderbody

alderbody Member

it is worth much more than it costs...

but measure your bridge accurately!

3. mattmccloskey

mattmccloskey Supporting Member

you would be better off just replacing the whole trem. the block is great but you will still be stuck with inferior saddles, screws,etc. You also have to consider whether your trem arm threads will line up with the callaham blocks threads, it may not, in which case you would need his arm or an american vintage type arm from fender. (callaham is better-SS steel). I would consider a whole new bridge by callaham or a high-quality gotoh retrofit one with a steel block. The callaham is tops but might require some redrilling(maybe not though).

4. atomheartmother

Well the saddles are the Fender vintage ones (I replaced the stock ones a while back).