Questions about micing drums for live sound

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by Moxsam, Mar 17, 2015.

1. Moxsam

Moxsam Member

I'm just getting into micing live drums and have a few questions.

When I research simple drum micing techniques it seems a pretty common approach is kick, snare, and one or two overheads. However I also commonly read that cymbal bleed into vocal mics can be a problem and that cymbals tend to cut thru the mix on their own anyway. I realize the overheads are there to capture the whole kit but it seems that overhead mics would be overkill for cymbal sound.

If the kick drum is the first drum to get lost sonically on a loud stage it would stand to reason that the floor tom and the other toms would be next.

1. Does it make more sense to mic the toms instead of using overheads that will probably pick up too much of the cymbal sound?

2. Would these tom mics pick up some (good) cymbal bleed anyway?

3. What about hi-hat? Does it cut thru well on it's own? Or does it tend to bleed into the snare mic? It seems like a very important component to capture the groove yet doesn't seem to get as much attention as the rest of the drum kit.

Anyhow I have a lot more questions but I will start there. I'm looking at buying some drum mics and wondering which direction to go.

Any thoughts or advice would be greatly appreciated.

2. Empros

Empros Supporting Member

The sounds you typically get from bleed are more muffled, a darker sound. Could be great if you want that sound though. If you mic the toms, depending on what mic you're using, let's just say it's a SM57, it'll be picking up what's right in front of it - the tom, because of it's pickup pattern. Mics are usually pretty directional. The cymbals would be behind the microphone and thus, the mic wouldn't really pick up their true tone. Overheads give a more clear picture of the kit's sound. Really comes down to what you want/prefer.