• New Sponsor: ShipNerd, Ship Your Gear with Us... for less! Click Here.

Questions about pickups

Hey guys and gals. I'm new to this page. my fellow player got me into it. I have a question. I am stripping down a older guitar and I don't know anything about pickups. I am versed in electrical work, but not pickups. i am considering replacing my current set, or may be just one, like the bridge pickup my current set all have two wires each, yellow and bare, or black and bare etc. what does this mean, and what type of set would i want? I'm meaning, can I order just any set for replacement or do I need specifics, as in # of conductors, wires, etc. I'd greatly appreciate any advice. thank you gents.

war-knuckles

Any pickups would work as a replacement. 4 conductor humbuckers just give the added option of a coil tap/split... the point of that being to use a push pull potentiometer to get single coil-ish sounds when you want them. Having four conductor pickups doesn't force you to wire it that way but does give you the option.

If there's only two wires, one is hot and one is ground. Depending on the wiring options you are going for you can find schematics to tell you what wires and capacitors go where and all that stuff

The rabbit hole of the pickup search is a deep one. You gotta figure out what type of sound you want first then you can sort of narrow down magnet types, resistance, etc.