Rack Gear and Things like the Voodoo Ground Control

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by Big Poppa Mac, Aug 3, 2008.

1. Big Poppa Mac

Big Poppa Mac Member

Ok... complete newb question which I am hoping someone can educate me on. How exactly does something like the Voodoo Labs Ground Control work with pedals/rack gear? I have seen threads about having to program this, that, and the other thing, but am still not seeing great explanations.

Pedals are simple enough... step on it, light goes on, sound plays... but when looking at those short board MIDI controllers, I'm just puzzled/confused as to how they work. I realize that for example, button 1 on the board may turn on 2 or 3 different pedals, button 2 may activate 3 or 4 different ones, but what is the overhead as to doing that versus a traditional pedalboard setup?

Thanks a bunch!!

~Big Poppa~

2. rdba

rdba Member

if you d'like to controll (switch on/off) pedals you have to get a looper (also from voodoo lab, it's like a true bypass strip, but rack mounted) . so you can programm your midi presets for all the rack midi stuff, including the pedals. you can select a preset let's say with a big muff, ts-9, delay etc...and the rack based stuff.

i had a rack system, but if you don't like to program like a nerd, you'll stay cool with your pedalboard.

I switched back to a IMO simple pedalboard :)

3. waxnsteel

waxnsteel Member