Rack Gear Cases

fenderbender4

Platinum Supporting Member
I'm completely new to the world of rack gear but am looking at getting a multi-space rack for some rack gear and drawers for pedals. Should I opt for something like Calzone or Anvil? Others that people would recommend? How much do things like that even cost? Thinking of something like a 12-16U size.

OilsFan

Silver Supporting Member
Cost is all related to how much protection you want/need. If you're just gigging locally occasionally you could get by with a cheap carpeted rack if you wanted. After that on the expense scale would be a regular road case or SKB type case. Then for the most protection/money would be shock mounted SKB type or touring type case with foam insulation inside. You're talking a few hundred to a grand for the case depending on how nice it is.

Lance

Gold Supporting Member
Not sure if the larger, plastic SKB cases are like the smaller ones. But, the four space one has one really bad problem with it. It has a lip where the molding is flanged so you can clip the back cover on. This flange makes it so that the only way you can get any cables into it is using 90 degree ones. Which is a real PITA!

JerEvil

Silver Supporting Member
I have really liked what I have gotten from Roadcases USA actually. U have a 2 space rack and large pedalboard case. Prices are reasonable.

c diddy 5000

Check out audiopile.net. Good quality, reasonably priced cases in various configurations. SKB never did well for me. I hated the plastic exterior. Always bent and flexed too much for my taste. The aforementioned site also has reasonably priced sliding shelves. Check it out and compare to the crazy overpriced stuff out there on the net. Weight and overall size do need to be taken into consideration tho. You really need to find a balance between what you will need, future growth, and what you can transport.

Astronaut FX

Gold Supporting Member