Re: SF Super to BF...Anyone know about this Torres kit?

Discussion in 'Amps/Cabs Tech Corner: Amplifier, Cab & Speakers' started by telewacker, Jan 13, 2005.

1. telewacker

telewacker Member

2. theelectic

theelectic Guest

That's f'n crazy, $96 for a bunch of caps and resistors??? Go to hoffmanamps.com and pick the values yourself, you'll save a bundle, and not feel like a fool later. That's insane - he charges an extra $240 for tubes! If they're not NOS that's another ripoff.

3. RL in Fla

RL in Fla Member

Yeah , I like his "2 parts" bias kit on EBay for $20 . :rolleyes:

4. telewacker

telewacker Member

Well I figured for all the resistors and caps on the circuit board, plus the filter caps, schemo, instructions, etc. ,it was an ok price , but I'm new at this so WTF do I know? I do know that I drop $150-250 every time I bring an amp in for surgery to my repair guy and this time of year gigs are slow and I'm trying to save some money.

Also, the idea of having all the parts pre-selected is enormously helpful to me as a first timer, but I'm absolutely wide open to suggestions.

5. theelectic

theelectic Guest

Well, I think of it this way: if you invest a couple of hours of time and research things, look up the schematic, write down all the part values yourself and buy them youself, you gain a LOT of knowledge you can use later on (and if you get into the amp modding thing, you WILL use that info later on!) ALL of the info is available for free! For example, the AB763 circuit:

schematics: www.schematicheaven.com or www.ampwares.com/ffg - also if you need some pics of the insides of amps, check out acplink.com

resistors: 38 x .30 each (carbon comp) or .15 each (carbon film) = $11.40 or $5.70
    caps: 26 x $1 each (average) = $26
    total: $36.40, let's round up to $40

The Kit 2 costs an extra $130, plain parts might cost:

pots: 10 x $2.50 each = $25
    jacks: 10 x $2 = $20
    switches: 2 x $5 = $10
    filter caps: 5 x $6 (average) = $30