Re-staggering pole pieces (Fat 50s) possible?

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by Krank, May 25, 2008.

1. Krank

Krank Member

I'm not quite happy with the individual string levels of the Fat 50s in my Japanese Strat. They're all staggered exactly the same, meaning the piece for the high E string is flat to the pickup surface - and it tells; I don't get quite the volume I want there. Highest pole piece is for the G string, which is also just a bit too high in relative volume. I don't quite get the rationale for their staggeredness this way.

Anyway, is it worth bothering with? I have zero electronics experience. I've of course adjusted the height of the pickups, which doesn't quite solve it, especially irt. the G and E string volume discrepancy.

The Fat 50s are great pickups otherwise.

2. stevel

stevel Member

Well, you have to understand what you bought - in the 50s, for which these pickups are replicas, people played on sets of strings with E-A-D-G as wound strings, and B and E as plain strings (like modern steel-string acoustics).

Leo Fender, in his infinite wisdom, decided that in order to make the strings balanced in volume, the less mass a string had (i.e., the thinner it is) the closer the pole piece had to be to the string. Larger strings also deflect more, and magnets actually pull on the strings as well, so this "stagger" was designed to compensate for those types of factors.

So in "vintage" staggers (still found in stock strat-style pups) have the G pole piece closest to the strings. The lower strings "stair step" down from that. The B is usually way down (below the surface of the pup in some cases) and the E much closer.