Ready to play piano in band?

cantstoplt021

I've been playing piano for a couple years now and I'm looking to get my playing to the next level. I know from personal experience that playing in bands and gigging takes your skills to a whole new level. I'm curious if I'm ready to start playing with groups. I feel like I can learn things on piano, but I can't sit down and play it like I can with guitar, bass or drums. Here's a demo I did that consists of a bunch of random things I know how to play. There's some Bach, jazz heads, random songs, etc. It's all over the map. Not my best playing ever, but you get the idea.

GCDEF

Silver Supporting Member
Depends. I play guitar and keys, and for a lot of rock songs, keys isn't a whole lot more than just playing chords with a synth pad. Obviously a lot of songs are a lot more complicated, so if you're in an ELP tribute band, you have a way to go. There's certainly some stuff you could do. Just choose your songs wisely.

swiveltung

The "mood" on your demo tells me you may not enjoy playing in a band as much as you think, but you should try it. In the band, focus on playing specific parts and leave some space... much different than sitting down at the piano and carrying a tune. Too much piano clashes with the guitar and vice versa. You are going to be Chording, playing a specific rif that is part of the song, or soloing.

Tim Bowen

I have played keys in bands and on recordings, and I am far from a great keys player. FAR. Gotta know your limitations, and gotta be able to play parts that not only fit, but elevate, the song at hand