Really Old Guitarist Coming Aboard.

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by arlum, Nov 20, 2017.

1. arlum

arlum Gold Supporting Member

I'm probably not the person you would seek for kudos on digital / modeling / modern gear. I admit up front that I'm stuck in the past. I'll be 63 this January and words that attract my attention are analog, hand wired, point to point, vintage, effects, boutique, Rivera era, Sampson era, etc.
    I've had a long time to build up my gear and formulate my opinions.
    I'm a songwriter, ex- music teacher, lover of 60's and 70's psychedelic, 50's rock & roll, hard rock until it gets too metal, blues, blues rock, country and jazz. I'm old fashioned. Hell ..... I'm just old.
    I've been buying and upgrading my gear for over 55 years. I started playing guitar in 1961 and got my first electric in 1964.
    I now own pretty much everything I want. Unless something mind numbing comes along I won't be buying any more gear. I've purchased and upgraded and purchased and upgraded so many times that I've probably helped more than a few gear companies over the years.
    I'm a songwriter who found it was easier for me to write music on a guitar than on a piano. Pianos offer a lot more in chord formation, etc. but, also offer far more of a landscape than I require to bring the messages of my songs to bare. I'm words and music. Straight forward.
    Anyway, I'm done buying gear. I've probably owned ten to fifteen pedals of every effect type offered. I've owned guitars and amplifiers from multiple manufacturers listed as production, custom and boutique. I know what I like. I don't expect anyone else to share my opinions.
    I've shown up here because on multiple occasions I've referenced your forum when considering gear purchases and more than a few of your opinions have born fruit. Excellent fruit.
    I have my favorites and I'm sure everyone here will have theirs. I won't be argumentative or participate in squabbles.