Really weird and really cool Strobostomp experience....

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by Chadley, Jul 24, 2008.

1. Chadley

Chadley Member

So this last weekend my Strobostomp 2, which I have been using for about 9 months now, decided to stop working. The screen just stopped working completely. Hmmmm.....weird.

This is where things starting getting cool.

Befuddled and a little angry I decided to call Peterson directly. I was able to find a phone number and the name of the technical manager directly on their website without tons of digging around (cool!). I called the number, was politely greeted by an operator who put me directly in contact with their technical person (awesome!). She was also very nice and asked me for the serial number of my tuner, told me there was a batch of them made around the time I bought mine that had this specific problem. She then proceeded to send me an email with directions on how to fix it, assuring me that if it didn't work that I could send it to them and they would fix it free of charge (even cooler!).

That was cool. Now for more of the weird part.

The directions instructed me to open up the unit and to actually snip off a certain capacitor....don't replace it, don't bypass it, simply snip it off. Well, I did and it fixed the problem. My tuner now works flawlessly again. Once again....kinda weird.

When the tuner stopped working I was seriously considering just picking up another Boss tuner, because we have all heard the Peterson reliability nightmares, right? I thought, "Here it goes, should have listened to all the TGP'rs about these things". After my wonderful customer support experience (even though I find the solution a little strange) I wouldn't get rid of this tuner for anything! How often do you find a company in today's world where you can actually get a human being on the line and be helped out immediately? That is priceless in my experience.

Just wanted to pass this along.