Recommemd me a channel switcher w/fx loop that comes near my criteria

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by Dica3, Jan 25, 2012.

1. Dica3

Dica3 Member

Hello all,

Looking for a bit of advice, i am in the market for a new amp and am trying to see what my options are

I have been playing a victoria regal II 2x12 for a few years now, really great amp but after a guitar change it is lacking in headroom a bit for my gigging needs, went from a low output strat to a 3xp90 firebird, tried all the common stuff to remedy but nothing satisfies. The amp was close to breaking up with the strat and while the p90s are also underwound they pack quite a bit more punch which pushes it over the edge a bit too much for my taste as i need both clean and od multiple times in a song and continuous guitar volume pot changes to clean up are near impossible due to the location of the pots.

I am totally sick of od pedals and looking to eliminate them from my board so running od pedals>clean amp is out

I also use quite a bit of dirt> delay/verb/ pitch shifting so running into a dirty constantly is not possible making the fx loop a must have

The last consideration is that the other two guitarists i play with use bf fender cleans as their base tone, so i would dig a different clean voicing if possible

Long story short (sorry for the ramble), i need a channel switching amp with an fx loop that has solid clean channel headroom and an aggressive cutting mid gain drive channel that is ideally 50 watts or below

Thanks for any help

2. timmat

timmat Supporting Member

Not sure of your price range, but for around $650 used you could get a Marshall dsl 50 watt. If you want to go boutique, there are lots of choices. Keeping away from the Fenderish vein, a Splawn Quickrod may do the trick.

3. RockManDan

RockManDan Member

4. axelicker

axelicker Member