Recommend a PRS

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by nolenuttt, Jul 27, 2008.

1. nolenuttt

nolenuttt Gold Supporting Member

I'm a newbie when it comes to PRS guitars-Always played Pauls and strats-I picked up and played one for a few minutes yesterday-Beautiful instrument-I do classic rock and blues, but also like harder stuff-Three Doors Down, etc-Which prs would you recommend? Pickup selection? I really liked the wide/fat neck option-Anyway, All suggestions are appreciated-Thanks!!

2. mikef1331

mikef1331 Member

Try out the new McCarty II. I haven't played one myself yet, but I do own the old "original" McCarty. Great guitar, very versatile. I imagine that with the new master voice control on the McCarty II that it's even more versatile.

You might also want to try out the Mira. Very cool guitar. Though it doesn't have the W/F neck carve.

Hope it helps.

3. paintguy

paintguy Long Hair Hippy Freak Silver Supporting Member

The SC245 does it for me. I have owned a Custom 24, Singlecut, Santana 1 and a McCarty.

All were great!!! I'm just most comfy with my SC245, although I still own the McCarty as well. (it has gone through some major mods though;))

Hence my avatar...

4. wichita

wichita Supporting Member

5. Powderfinger

Powderfinger Gold Supporting Member

I just got an SC 245 and it is outstanding in every way.

6. bluesdoc

bluesdoc Gold Supporting Member Gold Supporting Member

What did you guys pay for your SC245s? Ballpark or?

jon

7. aleclee

aleclee TGP Tech Wrangler Staff Member

IMO, the CE22 is a good choice given your criteria. The maple neck gives a little extra snap that works well under modern high gain. Best of all, it comes at a price point that will probably surprise you.

8. Scott Auld

Scott Auld Staff Member

I never owned a PRS but if I was going to get one I would be looking at the David Grissom Trem model (same one wichita mentioned).

9. wilerty

wilerty Member