Recommend an Amp Head

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by benjammin, Mar 14, 2008.

1. benjammin

benjammin Member

I've been trying to sift through the seemingly endless list of tube amp builders trying to find one that works as close to exactly right as I can find for my desired function. It probably is a departure for most of the forum here, but I thought a few of the more knowledgeable amp junkies might be able to make a few suggestions. Here's my situation:

I am not really a musician, I am just a hobbyist guitar player. I'm not in a band and don't really want to be, I just like playing music. As such, I'm never going to be gigging with this amp, so a slightly more fragile amp head is acceptable since ruggedness isn't necessarily a qualification.

Since I'm not gigging or anything, volume is an issue. I have a Hot Plate which puts a decent leash on the Vox amp I have now, but I am looking for something that sounds "pure" at lower volumes or just doesn't have a huge wattage output.

I need something that is not locked into a specific tone. I'd say like most people on here I tend to favor a bluesy overdrive sound, but since I'm only playing as a hobby I'm as likely to noodle around with some Trower stuff as much as some Slayer. I'd like an amp that is versatile, or if that's not a possibility, at least one that plays extremely well with pedals. If I can lock in a wider range of tones that way, I'm all for it, but I don't want an amp that is stuck doing one thing extremely well and nothing else. That said, if you all think I'd be better off getting an amp that does one thing extremely well instead of a bunch of things only average, I am open to that also.

Finally, I'd like an amp head as I've already have cabinets taken care of. Plus, it'll allow me to mix and match and hopefully keep the head for the future, but if there's a combo that is a clear winner, again I am open to it.