Recommend Budget monitors

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by chord123, Jul 22, 2006.

1. chord123

chord123 Member

I am a hobbyist and I have a 10'by 12' room bedroom to mix in. I use stand alone recorder, a Zoom 1266mrs. For monitors, I am using Hi Fi speakers 25 year old JBl speakers. I have a home stereo Pioneer Amp bought for $99 from Electric Avenue. I've read several places Hi speakers were not designed for mixing. I'm looking to buy a pair of Studio Monitors. Since I have the Pioneer Home receiver,can I use that with passive monitors? Or should I buy Active monitors? What monitors do you reccomend under $300? Should I buy a seperate subwoofer?
    What monitors do the the people on the recording forum use?

2. tbp0701

tbp0701 Member

It's been a while since my mastering/recording engineer days, but of all the near field (i.e., small) monitors I tried and used, my favorites were plain old PSB Alphas. In fact, I still use them for my bedroom stereo system. Hopefully they're still being made. Following that, there were the Tannoys, but I wound up selling those after the PSBs.

With your receiver, they should be ok, and I don't really see a need to go active; I just don't know how your receiver will match up with speakers (that's not meant as a rip; I just don't know anything about it).

(By the way, if you're uncertain, passive speakers need a seperate power source, like an amp--which is part of a receiver--while actives have built in amplification. That's all).

But the general idea of having small monitors for mixing is to provide a reasonable reference for most stereo systems (but one that people with more discerning hearing can stand). So it doesn't make much sense to me to say you can't use speakers designed for home systems, particularly if they're good ones.