Recommend good boost for dirty channel?

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by sheedbg, Jan 18, 2008.

1. sheedbg

sheedbg Member

I'm talking to add gain AND volume on already somewhat dirty channel (drive already set at a little over halfway on a Orange RV50 head). I should pre-face that I am a through-and-through "rock" player so I am talking a large amount of gain...

I recieved a BBE Green Boosta, but it sounds terrible through the loop, and in front of the amp it does not boost the volume at all.

Speaking of, if I do want a volume boost for a dirty channel, I will have to run it through the loop correct?

Thanks for any help, I'm fairly new to effects in general, now that I am into them I am developing a serious problem.

- Chris

2. funkycam

funkycam Member

3. rob2001

rob2001 Member

I'm not sure how it would work with an Orange but I know a modded Boss SD-1 is really good with a JCM 800. Tough to beat actually for a hard/heavy rock. The volume boost will depend on how high you have the amp gain. If the pre is maxed you won't get much volume. Gotta leave a little room in the preamp for a volume boost. Otherwise a true clean boost in the loop should be good. Super chili piccaso, MXR micro amp are a few. My SD-1 is modded by Indyguitarist... Blues mod... huge volume boost in front. Many will say bass loss. I'll say low notes don't flub out under high gain. Signal bleed is another issue but most mods take care of that.

4. amphead777

amphead777 Member

AM Beano Boost. You will be amazed with the sounds available

5. vonmorton

vonmorton Member

I have a RV100 the Semore Duncan Pick up boost through the loop is what you want.

6. fr8_trane

fr8_trane Member