Recommend Good Recording Software (I am Guitar Player)

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by LavaMan, Jan 14, 2006.

1. LavaMan

LavaMan Gold Supporting Member

I have not reserached this at all. I have a Laptop with 512 mb and a RAM.1.8 GhZ processor and am running Windows XP.

I have been paying guitar for about 25 years and have owned some basic "Guitar Tracks" stuff that was not the best, nor was it user friendly.

Looking for the best value recording software out there that includes some good drum modeling and will enable me quickly to start laying down tracks and is user friendly and with a good suite of features. Do not need the top-of-the-line that Pro-studios use but something inbetween.

I plan on making my own cable to record direct.

Recommedations?

2. UnderTheGroove

UnderTheGroove Supporting Member

Check out Sonar, Guitar Tracks, Cubase, Audacity, Fruity Loops, and Pro Tools LE. Audacity is free, and the others will have demo versions for you to try out (Pro Tools is probably the exception, since it is tied to the hardware). They all can get the job done, but you may find one is easier for you to use.

3. Tone Disciple

Tone Disciple Gold Supporting Member

Good question Lavaman. I am in precisely the same position. My question applies to software also because of the interface. I was looking at the new issue of GP and saw the Alesis 102 interface (60 second buyer's guide - Budget USB recording interfaces). These interfaces sell for under $250 street prices, but they use Cubase. My problem is that I am unfamiliar with any of the software packages and do not want to invest in an interface that uses proprietary software I may want to replace later. So - Cubase opinions are welcome! I am wondering if I should stick to Pro Tools LE for future compatability issues with studio remixing.