Recommend me an interface for multi-microphone recording (please!)

BobbyJames

Hi there - as the title says, I am looking for an interface (or alternative - I'm not an expert about recording equipment and would be open to other suggestions) that will record pro-quality audio with multiple mics.

I have a scarlett 2i2 at the minute that I have been recording my amp with (one close mic and one room mic), but I'd like an interface that enables me to record with up to 4 mics simultaneously so that I can do some high quality acoustic solo recordings (with a vocal mic, or possibly two, and then two mics for the acoustic)

Any suggestions would be really helpful as I'm looking to get sorted before we go into lockdown 2.0 here in the UK (speaking of which, sending my best to whoever is reading this!)

Thanks in advance!

BobbyJames

Budget also isn't a huge issue, although I wouldn't want to be spending over £500 unless it was very special

4 mics is usually the most I record at once, but I like having an 8-channel interface for flexibility. I've been eyeing the MOTU 828es as an upgrade (currently using Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 which works great but getting long in the tooth). The 828es has two mic pres built in and a bunch of line level I/O which I like, but the 1248 has four mic pres (plus line level I/O).

There's also the UA Apollo rack mount interfaces which have 4+ inputs, but the value there seems to be in the UAD plugins that work on the interface DSP.

Apogee also makes the Quartet, but it seems expensive to me for the I/O you get (esp. compared to the MOTU).

BobbyJames

4 mics is usually the most I record at once, but I like having an 8-channel interface for flexibility. I've been eyeing the MOTU 828es as an upgrade (currently using Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 which works great but getting long in the tooth). The 828es has two mic pres built in and a bunch of line level I/O which I like, but the 1248 has four mic pres (plus line level I/O).