Recommend me some Strat pickups

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by Non-Digital Tom, Nov 2, 2005.

1. Non-Digital Tom

Non-Digital Tom Member

A nice high-end set for classic Strat tones. I'm putting my trusty old (highly modified) '79 back together.

2. Souled Out

Souled Out Member

SR's from WRC are just the bomb! I don't know if Jim has put them back into porduction. They turned by Custom Shop Strat into a timeless classic.

3. tillerusa

tillerusa Member

WCRs are a very popular set as are the Suhr V60lps.

I prefer Harmonic Design pickups and feel comfortable recommending them. The vintage plus (slightly overwound) are the set that I use, but the '54 Specials (which I have no first hand experience with. . .yet) will probably fill the vintage niche a bit better.

If you want noiseless, Kinman's are popular and if you've got the clams Suhr has a new noiseless system that will work with normal pickups.

4. YZDanno

YZDanno Member

+1 on the Harmonic Designs stuff. They also make a great tele bridge pickup that fits in a strat bridge position. This with the regular strat neck and mid gives a strat the best of both worlds in my opinion (strat+tele).

http://www.harmonicdesign.net/allpages/custom_shop.html

5. TNJ

TNJ Gold Supporting Member

Suhr VLP60's.
    Fralin Woodstock '69 (or current equivalent-vintage steel pole?)
    Kinman Hank Marvin Signatures

S>
    j

6. Amit

Amit Member

Do you know what type bar magnet in used in the V+ neck?
    The inductance maybe?
    Does it still retain the "glass" and "bell" even though it is a hot pickup?

7. JamCam

JamCam Member

Get SD TExas Specials for neck and middle and a single-sized bucker for teh bridge.
    killer.

8. gururyan

gururyan Member

9. pacomc79

pacomc79 Member

Fralin Blues, neck middle. knocks out a bit of the harshness in exchange for more mid range fatness without getting overly hot and ruining the character. I don't like to go much over 7K.