Recording Concert Grand Piano

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by TheAmpNerd, Mar 9, 2005.

1. TheAmpNerd

TheAmpNerd Member

Hi,

Anyone done this? I'm new to it.

I was going to go with a couple of SM57s on
    booms, to get the left (bass) right (treble)
    sound. Pianists point of view.

Then use a condenser for the direct sound
    wave from the piano lid at 45 degrees openness.

I'm trying to avoid the symphonic hall standoffishness.

So thoughts opinions any one?

2. Bryan T

Bryan T Guitar Owner Silver Supporting Member

I'll first admit that I've never recorded a grand piano. My first impulse would be to use a pair of small diaphragm condensors (Octavas, Neumanns, whatever your budget allows) and use a stereo mic technique (XY, ORTF, etc) centered between the bass and treble strings. I'm not sure you'll be pleased with the SM57.

I've read a bit about how to capture a piano in the literature on either the AKG, Neumann, or Shure websites. I'm sure you could find a ton of perspectives at gearslutz.com or the other recording discussion sites.

I'm curious, is the piano going to be a solo recording or is it going to be in a mix?

Bryan

3. Bassomatic

Bassomatic Silver Supporting Member

Big subject, with many recipes for success (and failure!).

Never tried anything but condensers and ribbons. I'd be surprised if you had much luck with the 57s, but you've gotta work what you've got. I'd personally be more inclined to find a really nice spot with the condenser and go from there. (I'd think a nice mono recording would be preferrable to an iffy stereo one in most cases).

4. MichaelK

MichaelK Member

I've had good results using a pair of Earthworks cardioid condensers. Just behind the dampers, about 12" above the strings, one on the treble side and one on the bass side, aimed down and slightly across the strings. Move them around till you find the sweet spot for each.