Recording for beginners - help please!

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by hereandgone18, May 1, 2016.

1. hereandgone18

hereandgone18 Member

Ok, I am a complete rookie when it comes to recording. I'll try my best to be specific and to avoid stupid questions, but bear with my beginner knowledge please... (The stickied thread in this subforum was a big help.)

Goals: I would like to have a very basic and user-friendly recording setup at a reasonable budget. I want a setup I can use with my band (vocals, guitar, bass, electronic drums), both to record original songs and to record practice for improvement purposes. I'd also like to record short gear demos that are higher quality than just setting my iPhone to record. But with that said, I am not building a studio here, and I'm under no illusions of world-class recording quality. I want something fun to play with, that gives a decent sound quality. Budget is important, but I don't want to buy garbage.

What I have: I'd like to use my MacBook Air, which is current re: OS. This computer is issued from work, but I can install software on it freely. I was thinking of just using Garageband for the time being, or a free DAW that comes with an interface. Maybe one day I'll buy a recording computer, but that's beyond my scope now. I have decent headphones (Audio Technica ATH-M50x) and a vocal mic (Sennheiser e935). I also have all the musical gear I need, including electronic drums (so we can just go direct out).

What I think I need immediately: An interface for sure. I would also like to go with monitors at some point, so that the band and I can listen together (rather than individually with headphones). I'd also imagine that I need a decent instrument mic to record guitar and bass.

Questions:
    • How should I select an interface? How many inputs should I be looking for? Are there "better" brands to seek out? What qualities should I be looking for that I'm missing now?