Recording Gear

Discussion in 'Member Video and Sound Clips' started by Bad Henry, Dec 3, 2005.

1. Bad Henry

Bad Henry Member

I'm still new to this game, but am blown away by what I hear all you guys doing.

Could you take a minute and tell me what gear and programs you use to lay down your tracks and solos?

Do you make your own backing tracks?

What will I have to spend to get started?

2. Rock Fella

Rock Fella Member

the zz top clip i posted was recorded using this program

http://www.ntrack.com/

im not computer minded but this wee program is so easy , get yerself a POD line 6 and a good soundcard and you are ready to roll dude.

jimmy

3. Frank Axtell

Frank Axtell Member

I'm using a Mac dual 2.7Ghz G5 Apple powerpc running Logic pro 7.
    The audio interface is a Presonus Firepod and the MOTU Micro Lite is my midi interface.
    Guitar Amps:

Old 50 watt Marshall MK II JMP
    Fender Vibro-King
    65 Fender Super Reverb
    66 Fender Super Reverb
    Fender Deluxe
    Peavey 5150
    Mesa Boogie Tri-Axis with a Stereo Simul-Class 2-Ninety
    assorted 2x12 marshall 4x12 marshall cabs.with 25watt greenbacks

Frank Axtell

West Palm Beach, FL

4. Jim Soloway

Jim Soloway Supporting Member

I use digital recording gear as just a cheap and convenient replacement for old analog methods. I like pushing buttons and moving sliders so I'm a fan of stand alone recording units. I've been using a Tascam 788 for years with pretty good success. It was the least expensive true 24 bit system available at the time and can be picked up for next to nothing on the used market now. These days they have a 24 track version available for about $1000 that I'll probably move up to in the new year.

5. journo

journo Member

Hi,

I've posted quite a few backing tracks here that I've written/recorded/produced myself.

I have a fairly modest set-up:
    Average PC
    Inexpensive M-Audio Audiophile 2496 sound card
    Steinberg Cubase SX 3.1 sequencer/recorder