Recording Guitar and Band Help.

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by Redhouse-Blues, Sep 1, 2006.

1. Redhouse-Blues

Redhouse-Blues Member

Hello, this is my first post, looks like a great forum.

I'm the guitar player for a Blues/Rock band and I have been looking for a way to record myself and gig's. I have been looking for a recorder that will record what I'm playing or what we're playing. I really don't need all the effects and amp models. I just really want a easy, but quality way to record what's being played. I was looking at a Fostex package from Guitar Center, the MR8MKII for $299 that comes with a mic for vocals and one for guitar.

I'm new to recording, so I'm looking for advice and ideas.

Thank you.

2. scottlr

scottlr Member

After years of cassette multitrack and a go at a digital stand alone record that I never could make heads or tails of, my MAC and GarageBand sold me on computer recording. Simply because you have such good visual control as well as great quality. I now use Logic for even more quality and control. If you are not using a Mac, there's still plenty of good DAWs out there for both platforms. The only drawback I have is portability. I cannot pack up my tower and go to a jam session. But sooner or later I'll get a laptop and will then be able to do that, too.

3. Redhouse-Blues

Redhouse-Blues Member

Thanks for the reply,
    I use a PC and I have Guitar Tracks Pro 3, but for the life of me I can't make heads or tails of it and it's not portable for gig's. Guitar Track's has one other thing I don't like. While I'm playing, it echo's and drives me nuts. I heard it's called latency (spelling) and it's my sound card. I have a higher end Creative card, the Audigy 2 ZS.

So I'm really looking for something easy and portable I guess.

4. Redhouse-Blues

Redhouse-Blues Member

Anybody???????

Can you guy's tell me other ways you record your guitar and gig's?

5. VSpaceBoy

VSpaceBoy Member