Recording set up for a basic noob???

Rtee

Hey fam, I am new to this page though I have visited for info often. I've been playing (guitar) for a while and would like to finally start putting together a mini home studio to lay down some of my own material

Can I get any suggestions on the basic hardware and software needs reasonably priced to start a decent set up???

I own a windows laptop but it's nothing great...

Lele

What are the specs of your laptop? What is your target about your recordings (hobby, professional)?

Rtee

Ehhhhh laying down ideas but would like to get decent sounding recording out of it. Not expecting huge problem studio magic but something nice, if that's specific enough and.... my laptop specs are:

Intel B960 processor
4GB DDR3 Memory
500 GB HAD

not sure if that helps I'm not very techy

Lele

I’m afraid that your pc CPU is really on the low side; I generally suggest an i5 cpu to handle modern daw software and plugins.
I’d suggest you to try anyway, and then if/when you find out that you need more resources you will have to consider another pc.

I don’t know if you already have anything (soundcard, software, speakers), so I’ll try to suggest everything. And you will find many other info on this same forum in a similar thread. Everything I write here will be imho and ymmv...

SOUNDCARD
It’s the first thing you’ll need to put your guitar into your pc.
I’d suggest a cheap soundcard, since you could not find big differences.
Something like the most simple USB models of M-Audio (e.g.: M-Track 2x2M) or Focusrite (e.g.: Scarlett Solo) will work perfectly. I had more problems with Line6 soundcards, but once more: ymmv.
You may find out that placing a soundcard near a magnetic source (guitar pickups, the pc itself, lights, speakers, etc.) could get you some background noise. So a proper placement will help, but often it’s just a matter of monitoring noise, and it will not be recorded in your files.

SPEAKERS