• The Gear Page Apparel & Merch Shop is Open!

Based on member demand, The Gear Page is pleased to announce that our Apparel Merch Shop is now open. The shop’s link is in the blue Navigation bar (on the right side), “Shop,” with t-shirts, hats, neck buffs, and stickers to start. Here’s the direct link: www.thegearpageshop.com

You’ll find exclusive high-quality apparel and merchandise; all items are ethical, sustainably produced, and we will be continuously sourcing and adding new choices. 

We can ship internationally. All shipping is at cost.

Red Panda Context vs a 'tag team' of Dispatch Master + Dr Scientist Reverberator

topo morto

I've been bending you guys' ears a lot about reverb recently, but I have a question about these specific ones.

I have a Dispatch Master. Lovely ambient reverb. Headroom is not the greatest and there's limited scope for tweakability.

I also have a Dr Scientist reverberator. Decent range of basic verbs, good headroom, and nice healthy boosted output (works well as a 'preamp', last in the chain). Perhaps not ground-breaking in its sound, but nice enough to play through. Again, not so much editability (though plenty of choice).

I'm still thinking of springing for a new Context, hoping that it might give me

- Good headroom like the Dr Scientist
- 'Big ambient reverb' comparable to the dispatch master (More than one person has said there's nothing really like a DM...)
- basic nice 'normal' reverbs like the Dr Scientist
- A bit more editability than my existing pedals

If I were to buy the Context new and sell on the Dr S. and the EQD DM, I'd probably come out about even moneywise, so no real consideration there. I don't really care about the extra 'board' slot either. If I buy the Context and have to sell it on S/H I obviously lose a bit of cash...

Worth trying the Context, or stick with what I have for now and be happy?

Ev O)))

I reckon you should stick with what you ahve for sure. Two excellent pedals.