Reinforcing an SG neck even before a break.

T Dizz

I have one SG. Its an Epi g-400. I love it but notice how easily the neck moves. There are no breaks or anything but I took the neck pickup out to look at the joint and there really isn't much there holding the neck the body when compared to other set neck guitars. I was thinking how easy it would be to put a few short screws below the strap button to sturdy up the neck/body connection. I should mention that I'm a garage luthier with about 10 builds under my belt.
Anyone done this?

Last edited:

Blix

Wannabe Shredder
Silver Supporting Member
Totally doable.

Not-Good.jpg

Mark Robinson

Gold Supporting Member
Just be careful with it. I consider all Gibson guitars and instruments patterned like them to be very fragile.

My tactics have been successful. If I own it, it's got a secure hard case, never a gig bag. If I'm playing it, it's out of the case. It's also strapped, and it has strap locks. The moment I stop playing it, back in the case it goes. I don't even set them on guitar stands at home.

My Fenders? I'm down to one case for six guitars, the rest live in bags or on stands.

bob-i

All guitar necks have some flex, the deeper the cutaway the more the flex. It's not going to break without some impact, dropping it or similar. Just play it and be careful. If it does break it's repairable or replaceable.

I have one of those as well, very nice guitar. Right now it's my go to slide guitar, but I've used it for fretted playing as well.

T Dizz

All guitar necks have some flex, the deeper the cutaway the more the flex. It's not going to break without some impact, dropping it or similar. Just play it and be careful. If it does break it's repairable or replaceable.

I have one of those as well, very nice guitar. Right now it's my go to slide guitar, but I've used it for fretted playing as well.
Yeah. Maybe I'm not used to this much flex being this is my first SG. Thanks for the post

KGWagner